Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Hello Readers,

You’ll all know by now if you’ve read my blog before that I love SOSU by Suzanne Jackson products and I’ve got a fair few in my collection, from nail polishes to eyeshadow, highlighter and contour palettes so I was very excited when I seen that a range of lipkits were being released. The colours looked simply amazing and at only €12.95 for a creamy lipstick and lipliner you really can’t go wrong, especially if the quality is there!

I preordered 3 shades online: Birthday Suit, My Ex is Calling and Seduction. Believe me it was hard to narrow it down to 3 but I felt like those were my favourite out of the 12 and I obviously wanted to try them out before buying some of the other shades.

I was so impressed with the packaging of these lipkits, they were so beautifully presented and looked way more expensive!

They of course reminded me of the Kylie Cosmetics Lipkits but at a fraction of the price, I have bought a number of Kylie products but they’re quite pricey and the customs can be a killer!

I was so impressed with the 3 shades I’d preordered that I’ve since added 2 more to the collection, Wild Thing was a present from my lovely Mam and Can’t Cope was a total impulse buy after seeing Bonnie Ryan using it on Insta.

So, the lipsticks themselves are super creamy and pigmented, the colours are so rich! I will say, and there is a warning on the site, that the shades do look a lot different on me than most of the pictures I’d seen… now obviously I understand that shades differ on different skintones but Can’t Cope in particular is drastically paler on my lips than it was on Bonnie Ryan. A little disappointing but lovely nonetheless.

The liners are also rich and pigmented, they’re a lot creamier than other lip pencils I’ve used, they apply easily so you don’t need to dig in, go over the lines again and again or warm them up before applying so very gentle on the lips overall! I’m not sure if there was a mistake or problem with the liner I got for My Ex is Calling but the Shade is quite different to the lipstick, as you can see in the picture below, now it isn’t that obvious on the lips but the swatches do look noticeably different.

Below you’ll see all 5 shades swatched and honestly the pictures don’t do them justice! Especially My Ex Is Calling, it has such a beautiful holographic purple sheen to it that the camera just doesn’t pick up!

I’m definitely happy with my choices, there are some shades in the collection that I know just aren’t for me. Oh Boy is an extremely pale pink that would just look ridiculous on my skintone, the idea for the collection is that there are 3 nudes, 3 pinks and 3 reds so realistically there should be a shade or two for everyone and there is a bundle available on the site of all 12 for €95 which is a saving of €60 which is amazing! So if you find yourself loving a lot of the shades the bundle is probably the way to go!

I’m wearing Can’t Cope in the above picture and you can see just how pale it actually comes out on my lips compared to how it swatched on the skin (there are no filters on either picture!) It is a lovely shade but a lot paler than it looked on IG so bear that in mind!

I have Seduction on in the above picture and it is such a beautiful red, it’s definitely one of my favourites. It has a blue tone which really suits paler skin/dark hair whereas the other red shade, Te Amo, has more of an orange tone so would look better on fairer hair/sallow skin.

Another of my total favourites is My Ex is Calling which I’m wearing in the above picture, it’s such a subtle purple with a beautiful shimmer. I’ve worn this a couple of times already since I got it and it’s only been a week!

I’m wearing Wild Thing in the above and it’s not the best picture, apologies, but it’s a beautiful kind of burgundy red, a shade I have so much of in my collection already but I can’t seem to stop buying! The perfect Autumn/Winter Shade in my opinion.

Finally, in the above I’m wearing Birthday Suit, one of the pink-toned nudes in the collection. I don’t like a complete nude, I don’t like my lips to look too pale, I prefer a hint of deeper colour so this is my perfect nude shade!

I absolutely love these lipsticks, the colours are so rich and they’re not at all drying on the lips. The colour does fade when eating or drinking but I think that’s standard, it doesn’t bother me, I’d rather have a creamy lipstick that fades over a drying one that sticks around all night. I cannot recommend these enough, especially to anyone who likes the Kylie Cosmetics lipkits.

I also noticed that My Ex is Calling, is very similar to the Luna by Lisa Morganite Lipkit which is one of my favourites and a staple in my collection so you can definitely mix and match those lipsticks and liners for whatever finish you want. In the below picture I’ve swatched both. Can you tell the difference? Luna by Lisa is the top swatch and SoSu by SJ is on the bottom. Morganite is slightly pinker but in person the difference is very subtle.

Have you tried these lipkits yet? Will you be? What’s your favourite shade?

Lauren,

Xo