Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Hello Readers,

I love a good mascara, my lashes aren’t the longest and they don’t have a great curl (my hair, annoyingly, does though!)

I’ve tried lots of mascaras to make my lashes look longer and I swear by my eyelash curlers to help them be seen! I got the Urban Decay Troublemaker Mascara for Christmas as an extra present from my lovely Mam and I’ve been using it a good bit since.

My first impression of this mascara, and it’s still a lingering thought, is the smell when you open the bottle, it’s very strong. It hasn’t irritated my eyes whatsoever but if you have sensitive eyes and usually avoid scented products be very careful with this. The brush itself is very thick and densely packed, so overall not great for separating the lashes but it does add super length. I always find that thick brushes can clump the lashes and make them a bit stubby so I’ve found that applying a quick layer of a thin brush mascara just to separate out the lashes and make them spindly before applying this and it works a treat.

This wouldn’t be my favourite mascara but it is a great one if you have the time to do a base layer, I’ve been using a Ted Baker mascara from a giftset my sister got me for Christmas and it makes all the difference. It is more time consuming, and like with all thick brushed mascaras you need to work carefully and slowly to avoid creating a total mess and having to start from scratch. I find that zigzagging the brush from left to right also helps keep the lashes separated while adding product and length but it’s all about finding what works for you.

It is a very liquid mascara, probably why the smell is so strong when you open it, and it can smudge very easily, especially on hooded eyes like mine. Slow and steady is the way to go with mascaras like these and I have loved the effect it’s had on my lashes but it takes time and effort and they do still look thick but it gives that doe-eyed effect so that’s a positive! It usually retails for around €20 but seems to be on sale at the moment everywhere and has sold out in a lot of places!

Have you used this mascara? What were your impressions?

Lauren,

Xo