Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Hello Readers,

You may have noticed something of a trend developing lately, I seem to be on a serial foundation binge! I picked up a few samples of foundations over the last few months, some I’ve reviewed, some still awaiting review, but I’ve also bought a few high-street brands (Carter Beauty, L.A. Girl and Milani Cosmetics) because I’ve heard such great things and they’re so reasonable I figured why not give them a go?

I opted for the Half Measure Dewy Foundation because my skin is prone to dryness and matte-like foundations are just a nightmare for me. I’d seen a few bloggers/makeup artists talking about these foundations and they all mentioned how matte the Full Measure is, I just knew I’d be better off with the dewy finish! I’m also not a huge fan of really full coverage foundations, I just don’t like my makeup to look quite that heavy but that’s a personal preference.

I picked up the shade Shortbread as it was the closest to my skintone from the swatches I took in store but still had a slightly darker hint of colour, again another personal preference; I like my foundation to be a smidge darker than my natural skintone but without showing an obvious colour difference between my neck and face.

My first impression was how beautifully creamy it is, it’s not especially liquid (ie. It won’t run down your hand if you lift it) but it’s not a thick consistency. I’m not a fan of the dropper in this bottle, I don’t find that it works very well at all. It doesn’t pick up a lot of product and it can be a little explosive when squeezed, I’ve had a couple of instances of foundation spraying out and landing on my clothes!!

I’ve applied this using a small buffing brush, a kabuki and a beauty blender sponge and I’ve found it works best when applied with the kabuki or sponge in dabbing and pressing motions, I didn’t like the application using buffing at all. When pressed into the skin, like above, it gives the most beautiful, flawless finish and doesn’t crack or flake around my nose (one of the usual hazard areas).

It really does have a gorgeous dewy finish, too. It seems to catch light in all the right areas and gives such a healthy glow. It was so easy to apply contour and blush powders over this foundation and it lasts for hours, it doesn’t smudge or wear-off, the only thing I’ve noticed is some slight oiliness around my t-zone which is easily blotted away without actually removing any of the foundation (a rare miracle!) Although it’s the Half Measure, I actually think it’s quite high coverage without being matte or cakey, it hides all flaws and redness and I’ve never had to build up the coverage, one decent layer has always given a perfect finish.

This foundation is only €9.95 and it’s one that I’ll definitely be repurchasing. It’s so flawless on the skin (even dry skin like mine once you prep correctly) and stays put all day, I’ve even put it to the test in work and it doesn’t budge. For less than a tenner this is absolutely a must-have, even if you only use it midweek, although I’ve used it many times as a weekend foundation and love it!

It’s made me very excited to try more of the Carter Beauty range. Have you tried this foundation or any other products?

Lauren,

Xo